How to read, calculate and set MTU in Windows, Linux and OSX

After I released the MTU Optimizer, a small tool for determining the optimal MTU, some days ago, let’s look at how to determine the optimal MTU by hand, how to read the currently set MTU and how to set new MTU value now. Of course we will discuss the whole thing for the three major operating systems: Windows, OSX and Linux.
Before we look at the implementation within the individual operating systems, we first briefly clarify what the MTU is and how its optimal value can be calculated.
Theory – Identify ideal MTU
The MTU (Maximum Transfer Unit) describes the maximum packet size of a protocol. It therefore indicates the maximum size of a data packet, so that it can be transmitted via a protocol. If a data packet is larger, it becomes fragmented – i.e. divided into several packages.
For example, let’s assume that we (=PC) would have a factory for sugar packets and our packet […]

How to install Netis WF2190 driver under Kubuntu

How to install Netis WF2190 in KubuntuThe following article is about how to find and install the appropriate (K)ubuntu driver for the Netis WF2190 WLAN stick. For a few weeks I work mainly under Linux (again) and as with almost every of my attempts trying to switch from Windows to Linux, there were again difficulties with the WiFi this time.
So, to spare you the hassle, I wrote the following short tutorial for you about how to install the Netis WF2190 drivers under Kubuntu.
Finding a Linux driver for a Netis WiFi stick
Before we begin, let’s make a small test by lsusb command. If you enter this command in the terminal, all connected USB devices are listed with fuirther information.

lsusb

As shown in the screenshot below, our WiFi stick is also included in […]

How to convert Audible aax files to mp3 in Linux

 
Convert Audible aax-files to mp3 in LinuxSo far I always assumed that when I buy music or audiobooks on Amazon for download, I’ll get mp3 files for download. Far from it – yesterday I once again bought a an audiobook and had to find out that I was forwarded after the purchase to Audible and there was confronted with a “protected” aax file. If I wanted to buy at Audible, I would have gone to Audible. Thanks for nothing, Amazon!
But now the following question arises: “How do I convert the proprietary aax files into mp3’s, which I can play everywhere?” (aax files are only playable with the official Audible apps which aren’t available on all platforms.) After all, when buying on Amazon, there wasn’t the talk about the fact that the purchased audiobook can […]

How to disable PHP OPCache for certain directories

Deactivate OPCache per folderIn this article, I want to show you how to disable the OPCache based caching for certain directories. (If you need a short introduction to the subject of OPCache, you should scroll down to the blue box in this article.) Although OPCache is a good idea in almost all cases, there are, as with many thing, situations where you should make an exception. Especially when it comes to the development or if a bugfix is to be tested, it can make sense to disable OPCache.
However, since other projects that benefit from OPCache are often running on the same web server, a complete deactivation of OPCache for such test cases can not be an option. Therefore, this article is about how to disable OPCache on the directory level.
In […]

Switch WordPress to HTTPS with free Let’s Encrypt certificates

How to switch your WordPress blog to HTTPSAs the one or other may have noticed, en.code-bude.net is running strictly via HTTPS protocol since some days. All requests via HTTP protocol will be redirected to HTTPS. How exactly the switch from HTTP to HTTPS for code-bude.net was realised and what things to have in mind, I want to explain in the following article.
This article shall show you how to change your WordPress blog setup from HTTP to HTTPS. As a basis for the article I used my setup, which consists of a VPS (virtual private server) with runs Ubuntu Server as operating system and Apache as a web server.
To give you a better overview, I divided the article in the following parts:

Why you should use HTTPS for a WordPress blog?
How to install Certbot and generate SSL certificates
Automatically renew SSL certificates with Certbot
Configure Apache to use Let’s Encrypt certificates
Switch […]

MTU auslesen und setzen in Windows, Linux und OSX

Nachdem ich die Tage schon den MTU Optimizer, ein kleines Tool zur Ermittlung der optimalen MTU, vorgestellt habe, wollen wir uns heute einmal anschauen, wie man die optimale MTU von Hand ermitteln kann, wie man die aktuell gesetzte MTU auslesen kann und wie man einen neuen MTU-Wert setzen kann. Das ganze natürlich für die drei großen Betriebssysteme: Windows, OSX und Linux.
Bevor wir uns die Umsetzung innerhalb der einzelnen Betriebssysteme anschauen, klären wir vorher noch einmal ganz kurz, was die MTU ist und wie man in der Theorie den idealen MTU-Wert festlegt.
Theorie – Ideale MTU ermitteln
Die MTU (Maximum Transfer Unit) beschreibt die maximale Paketgröße eines Protokolls. Sie gibt also an wie groß ein Datenpaket maximal sein darf, damit es über ein Protokoll übermittelt werden kann. Ist ein Datenpaket größer, wird es fragmentiert – d.h. auf mehrere Pakete aufgeteilt.
Nehmen wir als Beispiel einmal an, wir (=PC) würden Zucker-Päckchen herstellen und unsere Packungsgröße […]

Netis WF2190 Treiber unter Kubuntu installieren

Netis WF2190 unter Kubuntu installierenIn folgendem Artikel soll es darum gehen, wie man den passenden (K)ubuntu-Treiber für den Netis WF2190 WLAN-Stick findet und installiert. Denn seit ein paar Wochen arbeite ich hauptsächlich wieder unter Linux und wie bei fast jedem meiner Versuche, mich mit Linux anzufreunden, gab es auch dieses mal wieder Startschwierigkeiten mit dem WiFi.
Damit euch das erspart bleibt, folgt nun ein “Kurzanleitung” zur Installation des Netis WF2190 unter Kubuntu.
Linux-Treiber für WLAN-USB-Stick ermitteln
Bevor es losgeht machen wir noch einen kleinen Test per lsusb-Befehl. Gibt man diesen Befehl im Terminal ein, bekommt man alle angeschlossenen USB-Geräte angezeigt.

lsusb

Wie in nachfolgendem Screenshot zu erkennen, befindet sich auch unser WLAN-Stick in der Liste. Da er über lsusb gefunden wird, jedoch kein WLAN Gerät am Rechner erkannt wird, […]

Audible aax-Dateien in mp3 umwandeln unter Linux

Audible aax nach mp3 umwandeln unter LinuxBisher ging ich immer davon aus, dass wenn ich Musik oder Hörspiele bei Amazon zum Download kaufe, auch mp3-Dateien zum Download bekomme. Weit gefehlt – gestern kaufte ich mal wieder ein Hörspiel und musste feststellen, dass ich nach dem Kauf zu Audible weitergeleitet wurde und das Hörspiel dort im “geschützten” aax-Format zum Download angeboten bekam. Hätte ich bei Audible kaufen wollen, wäre ich zu Audible gegangen. Danke für nichts, Amazon!
Doch nun stellt sich die Frage: “Wie bekomme ich aus den proprietären aax-Dateien wieder mp3’s, die ich überall abspielen kann?” Denn schließlich war beim Kauf auf Amazon nirgends die Rede davon, dass das gekaufte Hörspiel nur auf Geräten gehört werden kann, für die es auch einen Audible-Player […]

PHP OPCache für bestimmte Verzeichnisse deaktivieren

PHP OPCache für Ordner deaktivierenIn diesem Artikel möchte ich euch zeigen wie man das Caching mittels OPCache für bestimme Verzeichnisse deaktivieren kann. (Wer vorab noch einen kurzen Einstieg in das Thema OPCache braucht, scrollt am besten bis zum blauen Kästchen in diesem Artikel vor.) Zwar ist OPCache in fast allen Fällen eine gute Idee und dessen Verwendung begrüßenswert, jedoch gibt es wie in fast allen Dingen auch hier Ausnahmen. Vorallem, wenn es um die Entwicklung geht oder wenn ein Bugfix getestet werden soll, kann es Sinn machen OPCache zu deaktivieren.
Da auf dem Webserver jedoch oftmals noch andere Projekte laufen, die von  OPCache profitieren, kann eine komplette Deaktivierung von OPCache für solche Testfälle keine Option sein. Deshalb geht es in diesem Artikel darum, wie man OPCache […]

WordPress auf HTTPS umstellen mit kostenlosen Let’s Encrypt Zertifikaten

How to switch your WordPress blog to HTTPSWie dem ein oder anderen schon aufgefallen ist, läuft code-bude.net seit einigen Tagen strikt per HTTPS-Protokoll. Alle Anfragen per HTTP-Protokoll werden auf HTTPS weitergeleitet. Wie genau die Umstellung von HTTP auf HTTPS für code-bude.net verlief, möchte ich im folgenden Artikel erklären.
Der Artikel zeigt euch, wie ihr euren WordPress Blog auf HTTPS umstellen könnt. Als Grundlage für den Artikel dient mein Setup, welches aus einem vServer mit Ubuntu Server und Apache als Webserver besteht. (Mehr zu meinem Setup hier.)
Die Anleitung gliedert sich in folgende Schritte:

Warum HTTPS für einen Blog?
Certbot installieren und Zertifikate generieren
Zertifikate automatisch erneuern mit Certbot
Zertifikate in Apache vHosts konfigurieren
WordPress auf HTTPS umstellen
Tools und Tipps zur Überprüfung der Umstellung

Doch zuerst soll die Frage – “Warum überhaupt HTTPS?” – geklärt werden…
Warum […]